four light bulbs drawn on a black chalk board

We have updated our Bright Ideas Education Grant Program! Based on feedback from teachers, the application period has been changed to January through the end of February. Not only will this ensure that grant recipients are awarded their funds in time to prepare for the following school year but it also allows us to recognize the winners during our Bright Ideas 5K celebration held in each year!

The Bright Ideas program supports innovative and effective classroom education curricula that cannot be covered by traditional school financing. Individual teachers can apply for grants up to $1,000 while teams of teachers are eligible for grants up to $1,500.

Teachers in public and private schools, K-12 in Berkeley Electric Cooperative’s service area are eligible to participate. Grants are awarded for projects in any discipline and are intended to help teachers within Berkeley Electric Cooperative’s service area produce a better-educated workforce. The grants are designed to help teachers introduce innovative teaching methods.

Grants are awarded annually in a competitive evaluation process. Applications are now accepted January-February.   

blue apply online button    (Deadline March) 

And don't forget to sign up for the Bright Ideas 5K!


Congratulations to our 2024 Grant Winners

Jennifer  Church Angel Oak Elementary School
Rachel Griffith Angel Oak Elementary School
Lisa Racioppo Berkeley Elementary School
Meredith  Butterworth Berkeley Middle School
Ruth  Wilson Berkeley Middle School
Patricia  Hill Berkeley Middle School
Channon  Lee Berkeley Middle School
Katie Severe Berkeley Middle School
Peggy  Weatherford Berkeley Middle School
Matthew Carney Camp Road Middle School
William  Perkins Cane Bay High School
Christie Calvin Cane Bay Middle School
Latoya Stephens Carolyn Lewis School
Marcel Foster Crown Leadership Academy
Lauriel Sawin Crown Leadership Academy
Hannah Gragson Crown Leadership Academy
Mark  Roberts Crown Leadership Academy
Necie  Wald Drayton Hall Elementary
Christina Parson Drayton Hall Elementary
Melissa Beyel East Cooper Center for Advanced Studies
Olya Dub Fort Dorchester Elementary School
Allison Bond Fort Dorchester Elementary School
Kelly Kimball Fort Dorchester Elementary School
Carrie  Chinners H.E. Bonner
April Ash H.E. Bonner
Kevin Barth Hanahan Middle School
Kelly  Rapoza Hanahan Middle School
Dr. Kristin Matthews Hanahan Middle School
Claire Edwards Haut Gap Middle School
Lisa  Burgess Howe Hall AIMS
Katherine Bailey Howe Hall AIMS
Elissa  Chicarella Laing Middle School
Jennifer  Kelly Living Oaks Academy
Abigail Kiser Macedonia Middle School 
Caroline Leck Mount Holly Elementary
Lindsey Angle Mount Holly Elementary
Kim Sunderland Mount Holly Elementary
Elizabeth  Conroy Mount Holly Elementary School
Kristal Gainey Mount Holly Elementary School
Julianna Parks Mount Holly Elementary School
Anna  Barwick Mount Holly Elementary School
Tina  Ramos-McBride Sangaree Elementary School
Anna  Malone* Sangaree Middle School
Tanja Friday Sangaree Middle School
Dr. Michelle Norwood Sangaree Middle School
Michael  Cribb Sangaree Middle School
Victoria Wood Westview Primary School
Dr. Annie Bailey Westview Primary School


Request More Info!